Temple Newsam is over 1,000 acres of parkland, woodland, gardens, lakes, buildings and more, with a recorded history stretching back to the Domesday Book in the 11th Century. It’s been owned by the Templars, used as farmland, had a Tudor mansion built (and remodelled), been landscaped by England’s greatest gardener, inspired books, been turned into a coal mine, hosted sporting events, music festivals and weddings, and continues to be used by the people of Leeds to this day.
Explore our timeline to discover key events in the history of the estate.<! ========= Cool Timeline Free 2.6 =========>
History of Temple Newsam
The first concrete mention of Temple Newsam appears in the Domesday Book as “Neuhusam”.
Temple Newsam is gifted to the Knights Templar, who build a preceptory on the site.
Sir Philip Darcy
Following the suppression of the Templars, by royal decree, the estate is passed to the ownership of Sir Philip Darcy.
Between 1500 and 1520 a Tudor country house is built – the “Hampton Court of the North”.
Seized by the Crown
Temple Newsam is seized by the Crown following the execution of Thomas, Lord Darcy.
A gift from the King
King Henry VIII gifts Temple Newsam to his niece and her husband, the Earl and Countess of Lennox.
Bought by Sir Arthur Ingram
The estate is bought by Sir Arthur Ingram for £12,000.